Visitors who stay: Foo Man

We had thought this visitor was Shadow kitty, introduced here. The story is a bit sadder, I’m afraid. When trailerman moved, I suppose he couldn’t capture the poor soul and so left him behind, explaining why the cat looked scrappy and was always hungry.

I named him Foo Man a long time ago. While we were here full-time, this cat would hang out in the garden and seemed to have a Chinese-style beard that hung low. What I didn’t know then that we have since figured out is that Foo Man is deaf, the poor soul. We learned this by noting we could walk up on him while he was sleeping, making all kinds of noise on the approach. To wake him so he would move before being sprinkled or tossed off a cushion, I would touch him which would cause him to bolt several feet up in the air. Then we really started observing him, noting that while at rest, his ears do not move like cats’ ears tend to do while resting: twitching and moving in micro-directions as they track various sounds. I also began to notice he doesn’t pick up on KP’s approach until he sees him. Not our noisy back door nor our awkward human steps alert him, but rather he takes note by sight only.

In the ensuing weeks, KP took to feeding him. In time, he had Foo Man eating dry food from his hand, and then scratches and petting followed. Foo took longer to warm up to me. (My own fault; I used to startle him out of the garden. Zeke has first right of refusal, don’t cha think?) But this weekend, KP brought out a brush and we both did some grooming on him. (with much more needed!)

I’m glad he found us. I’m glad we can help. I’m not sure what we’ll do come winter. Here’s a happy Foo yesterday:

Image

Felis silvestris catus “Foo Man”

One thought on “Visitors who stay: Foo Man

Leave a Reply

